gregorylnewton

A Site For All Your Needs

Building a Network in 8 Steps

By MIRIAM SALPETER

You’ve probably heard a million times that networking is the way to land a job. But what if you don’t have a strong network already? All is not lost—you can start now to build one. Debra Feldman, known as the “JobWhiz,” is a professional networking expert and executive job search agent. Follow her suggestions to build a network that will help you land your next opportunity:

1. Develop a short list of target employers. It’s always easier to begin by identifying just a few organizations and then taking steps to find people who are affiliated with those places. How can you pick the right companies? Make a list of your most important qualities in a workplace. Factor in everything from the company’s location to its reputation. Use data from sources such as Salary.com, Glassdoor.com, WetFeet, Vault, and Hoovers.com to evaluate the organizations. Narrow down your list to no more than five companies to start; don’t worry if these organizations have job openings posted or not.

2. Refine your list by identifying if you know anyone who works in these organizations. Move forward with a combination of online and in-person strategies. If you haven’t already built a LinkedIn network, create a profile and then begin to search for people who work in the companies that you’ve selected. Use the “Advanced” search tab on LinkedIn’s toolbar to narrow down people who are connected to your top organizations. Remember, even people who don’t currently work at the company may still be able to help.

Leverage the people you know best. Use Facebook! Post a message asking your friends if anyone knows someone who works at one of your target companies. Consider signing up for BeKnown or BranchOut, two applications that could help you create a professional network among your Facebook friends. Tap into Glassdoor.com’s new tool, Inside Connections, to leverage your Facebook friend network and uncover whom you might know at various companies.

Don’t forget to ask people you see at family, social, community, and business events or parties about the companies that interest you, and request introductions to people who work there. (Do not make every discussion entirely about your job hunt; try to be subtle and introduce the topic in the course of conversation.)

3. Set up informational meetings (also known as informational interviews). When you approach people, emphasize that you’re interested in learning more about them and their businesses, and explain that you do not expect a job as a result. Ask people about their backgrounds, inquire about problems they face at work, and try to learn what kind of people succeed at their organizations. Feldman suggests, “Factor their advice into your research findings. Refine your target list of organizations. This is a critical step—success hinges on targeting the right employers that match your requirements and where you can also meet their needs.” And don’t forget to always ask for another contact, so you will be able to continue your networking meetings.

4. Once you further narrow your target list, research the people who may have authority to hire someone like you. Rely on the people you’ve been meeting and use social media tools to help. Do a search on LinkedIn for the job title and company name of the person who could hire you. Feldman notes, “Reference librarians can access databases with some of this information. Monitor blogs, industry publications, annual reports, press releases, and other announcements; trade publications, conference presenters, exhibitors, and attendees, and check professional association memberships and alumni listings to find the information you need.”

5. Use all the data at your disposal to become extremely knowledgeable about your target organizations. Act as if you were a consultant; identify any problems or pain points, learn as much as you can about them, and begin to identify solutions. Feldman says, “Research and learn about the company or industry, focusing on current trends, local, and global challenges, key players, and other relevant information. Become familiar with the landscape so you can talk knowledgeably about the target employer’s industry sector. Demonstrate your niche expertise, especially about current events, key players, trending publications, and expert authorities.”

6. Review your job search materials. This includes your resume, cover letter, online profiles, and your social resume—your professional website. Make sure you specifically address the company’s needs in these documents. Feldman says, “Document your unique capability to solve company challenges and demonstrate your ability to increase profits, reduce costs, or improve processes.” Include company or industry jargon and buzzwords, and be sure to outline accomplishments to prove you are a strong, qualified candidate.

7. Contact a company insider. Think of appointments at this stage of your search as high-level informational meetings. Feldman says, “Offer to help them first before asking them to assist you or mentioning your interest in finding a new job.”

8. Say thank you and follow up frequently. You never know when hiring opportunities will arise. By following these steps, you should be able to make strong allies along the way who will think of you when they hear of jobs. According to Feldman, your network is like your own private recruiter team who can deliver job lead referrals they think will interest you. She suggests, “Be patient. Be persistent. Be active. Be visible and credible. Keep abreast of what is going on in the field by researching, reading, and commenting on blogs, attending industry meetings, offering to present about topics, and volunteering at events.” When you make a solid first impression and keep yourself top-of-mind by keeping in touch with contacts, you will be able to reap the rewards of building a network.

Building a Network in 8 Steps

Find A Job

Single Post Navigation

36 thoughts on “Building a Network in 8 Steps

  1. It’s arduous to search out knowledgeable individuals on this subject, however you sound like you understand what you’re speaking about! Thanks

  2. Hiya friend, I am really glad I`ve found this information. Nowadays bloggers publish only about gossip and web stuff and this is actually frustrating. A good website with exciting content, that`s what I need. Thanks for making this web-site, and I will be visiting again.

  3. MYbFoU dsxoagfnetbo, [url=http://awutvxmhhzua.com/]awutvxmhhzua[/url], [link=http://jezqraphhwvi.com/]jezqraphhwvi[/link], http://klbhjhbetnmh.com/

  4. There are certainly plenty of particulars like that to take into consideration. That may be a nice point to bring up. I provide the ideas above as common inspiration but clearly there are questions like the one you convey up the place a very powerful thing will probably be working in trustworthy good faith. I don?t know if finest practices have emerged around issues like that, but I am sure that your job is clearly identified as a good game. Each boys and girls feel the affect of only a second’s pleasure, for the rest of their lives.

  5. I simply want to mention I am just all new to blogs and definitely loved this web page. Probably I’m likely to bookmark your site . You really have impressive writings. Thanks for sharing your webpage.

  6. Wow, incredible blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your website is great, let alone the content!

  7. I discovered your blog site on google and check a couple of of your early posts. Proceed to maintain up the superb operate. I just additional up your RSS feed to my MSN Information Reader. Searching for forward to reading more from you in a while!…

  8. Thanks for that. Very informative material. I’ve tried looking for this kind of information for a long time and its hard to do that with thousands if not millions of searches on Google. But with luck, I stumbled upon this page. I appreciate the information you’ve put into this.

  9. You need to take part in a contest for top-of-the-line blogs on the web. I will advocate this site!

  10. Good day! I simply would like to give an enormous thumbs up for the good info you might have here on this post. I will be coming back to your weblog for more soon.

  11. It is best to participate in a contest for one of the best blogs on the web. I will recommend this site!

  12. There may be noticeably a bundle to know about this. I assume you made certain good points in features also.

  13. You need to participate in a contest for probably the greatest blogs on the web. I will suggest this site!

  14. This website is mostly a walk-via for the entire data you wished about this and didn’t know who to ask. Glimpse here, and you’ll undoubtedly uncover it.

  15. you might have a terrific weblog here! would you wish to make some invite posts on my weblog?

  16. After research a number of of the blog posts on your web site now, and I truly like your approach of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark website listing and might be checking again soon. Pls try my site as nicely and let me know what you think.

  17. I used to be more than happy to find this internet-site.I wanted to thanks in your time for this excellent read!! I undoubtedly enjoying every little little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you weblog post.

  18. I am often to running a blog and i really admire your content. The article has really peaks my interest. I’m going to bookmark your site and keep checking for brand new information.

  19. You made some decent points there. I regarded on the internet for the issue and located most individuals will go along with along with your website.

  20. I found your weblog website on google and verify a couple of of your early posts. Proceed to maintain up the excellent operate. I just additional up your RSS feed to my MSN News Reader. Seeking ahead to reading more from you in a while!…

  21. You must take part in a contest for among the finest blogs on the web. I’ll recommend this website!

  22. I’m typically to blogging and i really respect your content. The article has really peaks my interest. I am going to bookmark your site and maintain checking for brand spanking new information.

  23. WONDERFUL Post.thanks for share..more wait .. …

  24. Oh my goodness! an amazing article dude. Thanks Nonetheless I’m experiencing difficulty with ur rss . Don’t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anyone getting identical rss problem? Anyone who is aware of kindly respond. Thnkx

  25. Can I simply say what a reduction to search out someone who really is aware of what theyre speaking about on the internet. You positively know find out how to deliver an issue to light and make it important. More folks have to learn this and perceive this aspect of the story. I cant imagine youre no more popular since you positively have the gift.

  26. It’s exhausting to seek out knowledgeable folks on this subject, but you sound like you know what you’re speaking about! Thanks

  27. I appreciate an unbelievable publish, may examine your others posts. many thanks for your thinking within this, I felt a lttle bit made an impact to by this article. Many thanks again! You earn a terrific moment. Portrays natures best by the wonderful report here. I do think that if a greater number of people consideration for it like this, they’d have got a better time period receive the suspend ofing the matter.

  28. Always do your best. What you plant now, you will harvest later. Og Mandino

  29. I’d have to check with you here. Which isn’t something I usually do! I enjoy studying a submit that may make folks think. Additionally, thanks for permitting me to remark!

  30. A powerful share, I simply given this onto a colleague who was doing somewhat evaluation on this. And he the truth is purchased me breakfast as a result of I found it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the deal with! But yeah Thnkx for spending the time to discuss this, I really feel strongly about it and love reading more on this topic. If possible, as you develop into experience, would you mind updating your weblog with more particulars? It’s highly helpful for me. Big thumb up for this weblog submit!

  31. very good post, i certainly love this website, carry on it

  32. Hey! I simply want to give a huge thumbs up for the nice info you could have here on this post. I might be coming back to your weblog for extra soon.

  33. This web page is known as a stroll-by means of for all the information you wanted about this and didn’t know who to ask. Glimpse right here, and also you’ll undoubtedly uncover it.

  34. The following time I read a weblog, I hope that it doesnt disappoint me as a lot as this one. I imply, I do know it was my choice to learn, but I truly thought youd have one thing interesting to say. All I hear is a bunch of whining about something that you can fix if you happen to werent too busy searching for attention.

  35. Your house is valueble for me. Thanks!…

  36. I am usually to running a blog and i actually recognize your content. The article has actually peaks my interest. I’m going to bookmark your website and hold checking for brand new information.

Leave a Reply

