gregorylnewton

A Site For All Your Needs

Obama Administration Seeks to Elevate Teaching Profession, Duncan to Launch RESPECT Project: Teacher-Led National Conversation

The Obama Administration’s 2013 proposed budget includes a new $5 billion competitive program to challenge states and districts to work with teachers, unions, colleges of education and other stakeholders to comprehensively reform the field of teaching. The proposal touches on every phase of teaching from training and tenure to compensation and career opportunities.

Today, Education Secretary Arne Duncan will hold a town hall meeting with teachers to launch the RESPECT Project, a national conversation led by active classroom teachers working temporarily for the Department to help inform the administration’s proposal and the broader effort to reform teaching. RESPECT is an acronym that stands for Recognizing Educational Success, Professional Excellence and Collaborative Teaching.

“Our goal is to work with teachers and principals in rebuilding their profession and to elevate the teacher voice in federal, state and local education policy. Our larger goal is to make teaching not only America’s most important profession, but also America’s most respected profession,” Duncan said.

The administration’s proposal builds on the President’s State of the Union speech when he said: “Give [schools] the resources to keep good teachers on the job, and reward the best ones. In return, grant schools flexibility: To teach with creativity and passion; to stop teaching to the test; and to replace teachers who just aren’t helping kids learn. That’s a bargain worth making.”

Details of the program will be developed through budget negotiations with Congress and the competition process itself, but the proposal considers a broad range of reforms:

Reforming teacher colleges and making them more selective.
Creating new career ladders for teachers.
Linking earnings more closely to performance rather than simply longevity or credentials.
Compensating teachers for working in challenging learning environments.
Making teacher salaries more competitive with other professions.
Improving professional development and providing time for collaboration.
Providing teachers with greater autonomy in exchange for greater accountability.
Building evaluation systems based on multiple measures, not just test scores.
Reforming tenure to raise the bar, protect good teachers, and promote accountability.

“This effort will require the entire educational sector—states, districts, unions, principals, schools of education—to change, and teachers have to lead the change,” Duncan said.

“We need to change society’s views of teaching—from the factory model of yesterday to the professional model of tomorrow—where teachers are revered as thinkers, leaders and nation-builders. No other profession carries a greater burden for securing our economic future. No other profession holds out more promise of opportunity to children and young people from disadvantaged backgrounds. And no other profession deserves more respect,” he said.

Education Is Key
Newton Real Estate Services

Single Post Navigation

31 thoughts on “Obama Administration Seeks to Elevate Teaching Profession, Duncan to Launch RESPECT Project: Teacher-Led National Conversation

  1. Being an seller creator, although you save thousands of dollars on the brand-new house, and also construct this how you constantly needed so that it is. Thus release your own creativity & get a …Home extension London

  2. I just want to mention I am just all new to blogging and site-building and definitely loved your web blog. Likely I’m likely to bookmark your site . You amazingly come with awesome stories. Bless you for revealing your web page.

  3. You got a very excellent website, Sword lily I found it through yahoo.

  4. Fantastic website. Plenty of helpful information here. I am sending it to a few buddies ans additionally sharing in delicious. And obviously, thank you on your sweat!

  5. I like this web site very much, Its a very nice berth to read and get info. “We are all failures–at least, the best of us are.” by James Barrie.

  6. I was reading through some of your articles on this site and I conceive this site is very informative! Keep on posting.

  7. Hello There. I discovered your weblog the use of msn. That is an extremely well written article. I will make sure to bookmark it and come back to learn extra of your helpful info. Thanks for the post. I will definitely return.

  8. I reckon something genuinely special in this web site.

  9. Woh I like your content , saved to bookmarks ! .

  10. What a exceptional viewpoint, nonetheless is just not produce every sence by any means discussing this mather. Just about any technique thanks and also i had try and discuss your post directly into delicius but it surely appears to be an concern in your blogging is it possible you must recheck this. thank you just as before.

  11. Its like you learn my thoughts! You appear to know so much approximately this, such as you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you simply can do with a few p.c. to drive the message house a little bit, however other than that, this is wonderful blog. An excellent read. I’ll certainly be back.

  12. The post was able to express what it wants to convey to the readers. It has been a very effective approach which resulted to a profitable output for all who have been fortunate enough to come across it!

  13. Hmm it appears like your blog ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any tips and hints for beginner blog writers? I’d definitely appreciate it.

  14. Hello there, my spouse and i take a look at your site at times i private the same a single i was only wanting to know should you have lots of junk comments Therefore how will you decrease it, any kind of plugin or perhaps what you have the ability to advise? I recieve quite a lot of recently it can be driving myself angry thus just about any support is exceedingly quite a lot valued

  15. Merely a smiling visitor here to share the love (:, btw great design and style. “Better by far you should forget and smile than that you should remember and be sad.” by Christina Georgina Rossetti.

  16. Simply desire to say your article is as amazing. The clarity for your put up is simply excellent and i can think you are an expert in this subject. Fine along with your permission let me to clutch your RSS feed to keep updated with approaching post. Thank you a million and please continue the rewarding work.

  17. Merely wanna remark on few general things, The website pattern is perfect, the subject matter is very wonderful. “We can only learn to love by loving.” by Iris Murdoch.

  18. Enjoyed reading this, very good stuff, appreciate it.

  19. Good post and straight to the point. I don’t know if this is truly the best place to ask but do you guys have any ideea where to get some professional writers? Thanks 🙂

  20. Utterly indited articles, Really enjoyed studying.

  21. I enjoy your writing style genuinely enjoying this internet site. “Our worst fault is our preoccupation with the faults of others.” by Kahlil Gibran.

  22. I like this post, enjoyed this one regards for putting up.

  23. Hands down, Apple’s app store wins by a mile. It’s a huge selection of all sorts of apps vs a rather sad selection of a handful for Zune. Microsoft has plans, especially in the realm of games, but I’m not sure I’d want to bet on the future if this aspect is important to you. The iPod is a much better choice in that case.

  24. I dugg some of you post as I thought they were very useful very useful

  25. I actually still cannot quite assume that I could end up being one of those reading the important ideas found on your blog. My family and I are sincerely thankful on your generosity and for offering me the chance to pursue our chosen career path. Thank you for the important information I managed to get from your blog.

  26. Sorry for the huge review, but I’m really loving the new Zune, and hope this, as well as the excellent reviews some other people have written, will help you decide if it’s the right choice for you.

  27. Some truly great blog posts on this site, appreciate it for contribution. “Give me the splendid silent sun with all his beams full-dazzling.” by Walt Whitman.

  28. This is absolutely gold. I was not expecting that I’d get so much out of reading your write up! You’ve just earned yourself a returning visitor 🙂

  29. I was examining some of your posts on this internet site and I believe this website is real informative ! Keep on posting .

  30. Very interesting details you have remarked, thank you for posting.

  31. Hey! Fantastic blog! I happen to be a daily visitor to your site (somewhat more like addict 😛 ) of this website. Just wanted to say I appreciate your blogs and am looking forward for more to come!

Leave a Reply

