gregorylnewton

A Site For All Your Needs

New orders, job growth fuel services expansion in Feb.

By Christopher S. Rugaber

Despite a drop in the supply managers’ employment index, other data that show service companies have stepped up hiring.

US service companies expanded in February at the fastest pace in a year, helped by a rise in new orders and job growth.

The Institute for Supply Management said Monday that its index of nonmanufacturing activity rose to 57.3, up from January’s 56.8 and the third straight increase. Any reading above 50 indicates expansion.

Expansion in the service sector coincides with the lowest unemployment in three years, five straight months of solid to strong job growth, and rising consumer confidence.

The purchasing managers survey roughly 90 percent of US companies in all sectors outside of manufacturing. That includes retail, construction, financial services, health care, and hotels.

Fourteen of the 18 industries the survey tracks expanded in February. Real estate, rental and leasing, transportation and warehousing, construction, hotels and restaurants, and information technology firms were among those that reported growth.

Anthony Nieves, chairman of the ISM’s survey committee, said that most of the comments from the group’s members “reflect a growing level of optimism about business conditions and the overall economy.’’

Companies expressed concerns about inflation and rising gas prices, Nieves said. A measure of prices paid by service firms jumped to the highest level in 11 months.

Still, the overall reading for the sector was the best since February 2011.

“February seems to be off to a strong start for the economy,’’ John Ryding, an economist at RDQ Economics, said in a note to clients. “The pickup in order growth was particularly encouraging,’’ he added, because it indicates that growth will likely continue.

A separate report showed factory orders fell 1 percent in January, the biggest decline in 15 months. Businesses sharply reduced orders for machinery, equipment, and other so-called core capital goods, the Commerce Department said.

The decrease was largely expected after a tax cut expired at the end of last year. Even with the decline, orders have gradually been climbing back to near prerecession levels.

Demand for services should continue to rise, according to the ISM report. A measure of new orders reached its highest point in a year.

The group’s employment index declined from its highest reading in six years. Still, it stayed at a level that suggests many service companies are adding workers.

That confirms other data that show service companies have stepped up hiring. The government said last month that service firms added 176,000 jobs in January, the most in four months.

On Friday the government issues its February jobs report. Economists forecast 210,000 total net jobs were added last month, according to a survey by FactSet.

New orders, job growth fuel services expansion in Feb.

Find A Job

Single Post Navigation

61 thoughts on “New orders, job growth fuel services expansion in Feb.

  1. I cherished up to you will receive carried out proper here. The sketch is attractive, your authored subject matter stylish. nevertheless, you command get bought an impatience over that you would like be turning in the following. sick surely come further previously once more as exactly the same nearly very incessantly inside of case you shield this increase.

  2. Real wonderful info can be found on weblog.

  3. Dead pent content, thanks for information. “He who establishes his argument by noise and command shows that his reason is weak.” by Michel de Montaigne.

  4. Wohh just what I was looking for, regards for putting up. “The only way of knowing a person is to love them without hope.” by Walter Benjamin.

  5. I am not real fantastic with English but I find this really easy to understand.

  6. I like this blog very much so much wonderful info.

  7. I loved as much as you will obtain performed right here. The sketch is tasteful, your authored subject matter stylish. nonetheless, you command get bought an nervousness over that you want be turning in the following. unwell indisputably come more beforehand again since exactly the similar nearly very regularly inside of case you shield this hike.

  8. I think this website contains some very good information for everyone :D. “As ill-luck would have it.” by Miguel de Cervantes.

  9. I am lucky that I noticed this weblog, just the right information that I was searching for!

  10. I like this post, enjoyed this one appreciate it for putting up.

  11. I think I will become a great follower.Just want to say your post is striking. The clarity in your post is simply striking and i can take for granted you are an expert on this subject.

  12. Hi there, i read your blog from time to time and i own a similar one and i was just wondering if you get a lot of spam responses? If so how do you protect against it, any plugin or anything you can advise? I get so much lately it’s driving me mad so any help is very much appreciated.

  13. I was just looking for this information for a while. After 6 hours of continuous Googleing, finally I got it in your site. I wonder what is the lack of Google strategy that do not rank this type of informative websites in top of the list. Generally the top web sites are full of garbage.

  14. I truly enjoy reading through on this site, it has got excellent articles . “Wealth and children are the adornment of life.” by Koran.

  15. I wanted to visit and let you know how really I cherished discovering your web site today. I will consider it the honor to work at my business office and be able to operate on the tips contributed on your website and also take part in visitors’ responses like this. Should a position regarding guest writer become available at your end, remember to let me know.

  16. I’m not sure why but this weblog is loading incredibly slow for me. Is anyone else having this issue or is it a issue on my end? I’ll check back later and see if the problem still exists.

  17. There may be noticeably a bundle to learn about this. I assume you made sure nice factors in options also.

  18. I conceive you have noted some very interesting details , regards for the post.

  19. I regard something really interesting about your weblog so I bookmarked .

  20. Hey There. I discovered your blog the usage of msn. This is a very smartly written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and return to read extra of your helpful info. Thank you for the post. I will definitely return.

  21. cheers, I thoroughly enjoyed reading your article. I really appreciate your wonderful knowledge and the time you put into educating the rest of us.

  22. I have fun with, lead to I discovered exactly what I used to be looking for. You have ended my four day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man. Have a nice day. Bye

  23. Regards for helping out, superb info. “Nobody can be exactly like me. Sometimes even I have trouble doing it.” by Tallulah Bankhead.

  24. Thankyou for helping out, fantastic information.

  25. What i don’t realize is in reality how you are now not actually much more neatly-appreciated than you might be right now. You are very intelligent. You recognize therefore significantly with regards to this topic, produced me for my part consider it from numerous numerous angles. Its like men and women aren’t involved unless it is something to accomplish with Lady gaga! Your own stuffs outstanding. At all times handle it up!

  26. I enjoy the efforts you have put in this, regards for all the great content.

  27. Thank you an incredible put up, can read one’s others posts. thank you your notions with this, I soon became a lttle bit thump by this post. Many thanks again! You make a great moment. Portrays natures best by the excellent report here. I think if more people consideration for it like this, they’d have got a better moment in time receive the hold ofing the difficulty.

  28. Terrific work! This is the type of info that should be shared around the net. Shame on Google for not positioning this post higher! Come on over and visit my site . Thanks =)

  29. Wohh just what I was searching for, regards for posting . “Be nice to everyone on your way to the top because you pass them all on the way down.” by Fred Hufnagel, Sr..

  30. I believe this is among the most important information for me. And i’m satisfied studying your article. But wanna observation on some basic things, The site taste is wonderful, the articles is actually excellent :D. Good task, cheers.

  31. I see something truly interesting about your web site so I saved to bookmarks .

  32. I went over this website and I conceive you have a lot of superb information, saved to my bookmarks (:.

  33. Pingback: Here buy SEO Backlinks

  34. Awesome looking website. I recently built mine and I was looking for some ideas for my site and you gave me a few. Can I ask you whether you developed the website by youself?

  35. These all YouTube gaming movies are really in fastidious quality, I watched out all these along by my colleagues.

  36. I truly enjoy reading through on this web site, it contains fantastic posts. “Never fight an inanimate object.” by P. J. O’Rourke.

  37. I like this web blog its a master peace ! Glad I found this on google. “Don’t spend time beating on a wall, hoping to transform it into a door.” by Dr. Laura Schlessinger.

  38. The Zune concentrates on being a Portable Media Player. Not a web browser. Not a game machine. Maybe in the future it’ll do even better in those areas, but for now it’s a fantastic way to organize and listen to your music and videos, and is without peer in that regard. The iPod’s strengths are its web browsing and apps. If those sound more compelling, perhaps it is your best choice.

  39. The Zune concentrates on being a Portable Media Player. Not a web browser. Not a game machine. Maybe in the future it’ll do even better in those areas, but for now it’s a fantastic way to organize and listen to your music and videos, and is without peer in that regard. The iPod’s strengths are its web browsing and apps. If those sound more compelling, perhaps it is your best choice.

  40. I like this post, enjoyed this one regards for putting up.

  41. YouTube is world’s leading video sharing web page, no one can defeat it. Every one add video tutorials at YouTube after that get embed code and post anyplace.

  42. Hands down, Apple’s app store wins by a mile. It’s a huge selection of all sorts of apps vs a rather sad selection of a handful for Zune. Microsoft has plans, especially in the realm of games, but I’m not sure I’d want to bet on the future if this aspect is important to you. The iPod is a much better choice in that case.

  43. You guys are wrong, and need to not be so very difficult around the author. This website seems to become committed to stating their own impression, which most of us have. I detest when people today consider to talk lousy about someone mainly because their impression differs from other people. Examine all by yourself just before you are attempting to talk about someone else.

  44. You have observed very interesting details! ps nice internet site.

  45. I wanted to follow along and allow you to know how great I appreciated discovering your site today. I might consider it a great honor to do things at my workplace and be able to utilize the tips contributed on your blog and also be a part of visitors’ feedback like this. Should a position associated with guest author become on offer at your end, i highly recommend you let me know.

  46. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s new to me. Anyways, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back often!

  47. If you’re still on the fence: grab your favorite earphones, head down to a Best Buy and ask to plug them into a Zune then an iPod and see which one sounds better to you, and which interface makes you smile more. Then you’ll know which is right for you.

  48. Some really fantastic blog posts on this site, regards for contribution.

  49. Very interesting details you have remarked, thanks for posting.

  50. Wohh exactly what I was looking for, appreciate it for posting.

  51. I like this web site very much so much good information. “The great thing about democracy is that it gives every voter a chance to do something stupid.” by Art Spander.

  52. Awesome piece of information! May I reference part of this on my blog if I post a backlink to this webpage? Thank you.

  53. Hands down, Apple’s app store wins by a mile. It’s a huge selection of all sorts of apps vs a rather sad selection of a handful for Zune. Microsoft has plans, especially in the realm of games, but I’m not sure I’d want to bet on the future if this aspect is important to you. The iPod is a much better choice in that case.

  54. I love the efforts you have put in this, thanks for all the great blog posts.

  55. You have brought up a very fantastic points , regards for the post.

  56. Thanks for all your efforts that you have put in this. Very interesting info. “Never knock on Death’s door ring the bell and run away Death really hates that” by Matt Frewer.

  57. Just wanna state that this is invaluable , Thanks for taking your time to write this.

  58. I like your writing style really loving this site. “Not everything that can be counted counts, and not everything that counts can be counted.” by Albert Einstein.

  59. I would like to use the chance of saying thanks to you for your professional advice I have enjoyed visiting your site. I am looking forward to the particular commencement of my college research and the complete preparing would never have been complete without surfing your site. If I may be of any help to others, I might be happy to help by what I have gained from here.

Leave a Reply

