gregorylnewton

A Site For All Your Needs

Productivity in U.S. Cools as Labor Costs Jump

By Shobhana Chandra

The productivity of U.S. workers rose at a slower pace in the fourth quarter and labor costs jumped, indicating businesses are reaching the limit of wringing efficiency from their workforce.

The measure of employee output per hour climbed at a 0.9 percent annual rate, after a 1.8 percent gain in the prior three months, revised figures from the Labor Department showed today in Washington. Expenses per worker climbed at a 2.8 percent rate, more than twice as much as previously estimated.

Productivity will probably remain restrained as businesses gain confidence in the economic expansion and take on more workers to meet growing demand. Nonetheless, rising labor costs and slowing efficiency may put pressure on corporate profits.

Less productivity means “the only way to increase output is to hire more people,” said Brian Jones, a senior U.S. economist at Societe Generale in New York, who was the only analyst in a Bloomberg News survey to accurately forecast the jump in labor costs. “It’s a positive for the labor market,” he said, at the same time “margins should be getting squeezed a bit.”

Another report today showed companies added 216,000 workers to their payrolls in February, according to data from Roseland, New Jersey-based ADP Employer Services.

Stock-index futures held earlier gains after the reports. The contract on the Standard & Poor’s 500 Index maturing this month rose 0.5 percent to 1,349 at 8:46 a.m. in New York.

Prior Estimates
Fourth-quarter productivity was revised up from an initial estimate of 0.7 percent issued last month. Labor costs were revised up from a prior estimate of 1.2 percent.

For all of 2011, productivity climbed 0.4 percent, the smallest gain since 1995. The increased was revised down from an initial estimate of 0.7 percent.

Labor expenses last year increased 2 percent, revised from a 1.2 percent gain and the most since 2008.

Fourth-quarter productivity was projected to rise 0.8 percent, according to the median forecast of 65 economists surveyed by Bloomberg News. Estimates ranged from gains of 0.5 percent to 1.6 percent.

Unit labor costs, which are adjusted for efficiency gains, were forecast to rise 1.2 percent in the fourth quarter, the survey median showed.

The revised jump in labor expenses last quarter reflected the biggest six-month increase in worker pay in almost five years. Wages and salaries in the third and fourth quarters of 2011 grew a combined $197.3 billion, the most since the six months ended March 2007, Commerce Department data revisions showed on Feb. 29. Gross domestic product climbed at a revised 3 percent annual rate, faster than previously estimated and the most since the second quarter of 2010.

Productivity Focus

Companies taking steps to boost efficiency and cushion rising employee expenses include United Parcel Service Inc. (UPS), the world’s largest package-delivery company. UPS reported a jump in fourth-quarter earnings and forecast a 2012 profit that exceeded analysts’ estimates, helped by higher demand for shipping.

“In the fourth quarter, our productivity improvements offset the entire wage-rate increase,” Scott Davis, chairman and chief executive officer, said on a Jan. 31 conference call.

Improving demand is boosting hiring. A report in two days may show payrolls rose by 210,000 in February, according to the median forecast of economists surveyed by Bloomberg.

The projected increase in payrolls for last month would follow gains of 243,000 in January and 203,000 in December. It would mark the strongest three-month stretch in almost a year. The jobless rate in February probably held at an almost three- year low of 8.3 percent, economists predicted

“On balance, the data indicate improving growth and prospects for job creation in 2012,” Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas President Richard Fisher said in a speech on March 5. “However, the outlook is hardly robust.”

“Productivity in U.S. Cools as Labor Costs Jump”

Find A Job – Find The Job That’s Right For You

Single Post Navigation

124 thoughts on “Productivity in U.S. Cools as Labor Costs Jump

  1. Perfectly indited subject matter, appreciate it for information .

  2. We wish to thank you just as before for the wonderful ideas you offered Janet when preparing her post-graduate research and, most importantly, with regard to providing the many ideas in one blog post. Provided we had been aware of your web site a year ago, we’d have been kept from the useless measures we were employing. Thank you very much.

  3. I’m glad to see that you’re addressing this important topic in such a straightforward and easily understandable way. Best wishes. I’ll be back.

  4. Great post, I conceive blog owners should acquire a lot from this web blog its really user friendly . “Frisbeetarianism is the belief that when you die, your soul goes up on the roof and gets stuck.” by George Carlin.

  5. Utterly indited subject matter, thanks for entropy. “No human thing is of serious importance.” by Plato.

  6. Very interesting info!Perfect just what I was searching for!

  7. Its like you learn my thoughts! You seem to grasp a lot about this, such as you wrote the e book in it or something. I believe that you just can do with a few percent to drive the message house a bit, however instead of that, that is fantastic blog. A fantastic read. I’ll certainly be back.

  8. I like this weblog quite considerably, Its a rattling nice billet to read and locate information .

  9. Appreciate it for all your efforts that you have put in this. Very interesting information. “It is within the families themselves where peace can begin.” by Susan Partnow.

  10. I dugg some of you post as I cerebrated they were handy handy

  11. Hello, i feel that i saw you visited my weblog so i came to “go back the want”.I’m attempting to find things to enhance my web site!I guess its adequate to use some of your ideas!!

  12. At this time it appears like Drupal is the preferred blogging platform available right now. (from what I’ve read) Is that what you are using on your blog?

  13. You have observed very interesting points! ps decent web site.

  14. I have recently started a website, the information you provide on this website has helped me greatly. Thank you for all of your time & work.

  15. I came to this page by searching yahoo. I have found it quite interesting. thanx for providing this. I will have to visit here again!

  16. Some really nice and useful info on this website, besides I conceive the layout has excellent features.

  17. Howdy! Would you mind if I share your blog with my myspace group? There’s a lot of people that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Thanks

  18. Wohh precisely what I was looking for, appreciate it for posting.

  19. I genuinely enjoy reading on this site, it contains great content . “Those who complain most are most to be complained of.” by Matthew Henry.

  20. I truly prize your piece of work, Great post.

  21. I think you have mentioned some very interesting details , thankyou for the post.

  22. My coder is trying to convince me to move to .net from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the costs. But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using Movable-type on numerous websites for about a year and am concerned about switching to another platform. I have heard great things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I can import all my wordpress content into it? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  23. Howdy would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re using? I’m looking to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a difficult time choosing between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique. P.S My apologies for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

  24. I would like to thank you for the efforts you have put in writing this website. I’m hoping the same high-grade website post from you in the upcoming also. Actually your creative writing skills has inspired me to get my own site now. Actually the blogging is spreading its wings quickly. Your write up is a good example of it.

  25. Keep up the fantastic work, I read few content on this website and I believe that your web blog is real interesting and has circles of excellent information.

  26. Easily, the post is really the greatest on this laudable topic. I concur with your conclusions and will thirstily look forward to your future updates. Saying nice one will not just be sufficient, for the fantastic c lucidity in your writing. I will instantly grab your rss feed to stay privy of any updates. Solid work and much success in your business enterprise!

  27. Very interesting subject, regards for putting up.

  28. I really like your writing style, good information, thanks for posting :D. “God save me from my friends. I can protect myself from my enemies.” by Claude Louis Hector de Villars.

  29. Its such as you learn my thoughts! You seem to grasp a lot approximately this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I believe that you just could do with a few percent to power the message home a bit, however other than that, that is fantastic blog. A fantastic read. I’ll certainly be back.

  30. Merely a smiling visitor here to share the love (:, btw great design and style. “Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not one bit simpler.” by Albert Einstein.

  31. Hands down, Apple’s app store wins by a mile. It’s a huge selection of all sorts of apps vs a rather sad selection of a handful for Zune. Microsoft has plans, especially in the realm of games, but I’m not sure I’d want to bet on the future if this aspect is important to you. The iPod is a much better choice in that case.

  32. I was examining some of your posts on this site and I conceive this site is real informative! Keep posting.

  33. Hey there! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could find a captcha plugin for my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having difficulty finding one? Thanks a lot!

  34. How one can Colour combination Your entire Available alternatives For the purpose of Warhammer

  35. I’ll gear this review to 2 types of people: current Zune owners who are considering an upgrade, and people trying to decide between a Zune and an iPod. (There are other players worth considering out there, like the Sony Walkman X, but I hope this gives you enough info to make an informed decision of the Zune vs players other than the iPod line as well.)

  36. If you’re still on the fence: grab your favorite earphones, head down to a Best Buy and ask to plug them into a Zune then an iPod and see which one sounds better to you, and which interface makes you smile more. Then you’ll know which is right for you.

  37. I really like your writing style, good info, thanks for putting up :D. “The superfluous is very necessary.” by Francois Marie Arouet Voltaire.

  38. Perfectly indited content material, Really enjoyed reading through.

  39. Thankyou for helping out, fantastic info .

  40. Thank you for the information.

  41. Its fantastic as your other articles : D, thanks for posting . “To be able to look back upon ones life in satisfaction, is to live twice.” by Kahlil Gibran.

  42. Someone essentially help to make seriously posts I would state. This is the very first time I frequented your website page and thus far? I amazed with the research you made to make this particular publish incredible. Fantastic job!

  43. Merely wanna tell that this is very useful , Thanks for taking your time to write this.

  44. I would like to thnkx for the efforts you have put in writing this website. I’m hoping the same high-grade blog post from you in the upcoming also. Actually your creative writing skills has inspired me to get my own web site now. Really the blogging is spreading its wings fast. Your write up is a good example of it.

  45. Whats hattnin, yeuh dis blog right heur is ill, big ups PAAAATNAAAA.

  46. Keep up the fantastic piece of work, I read few content on this internet site and I believe that your website is really interesting and has got bands of good information.

  47. I’ve recently started a web site, the information you provide on this site has helped me greatly. Thank you for all of your time & work.

  48. Neat blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere? A theme like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my blog shine. Please let me know where you got your design. Cheers

  49. Heya , I’m sure this is an excellent journal. I stumbled upon the software attached to Aol , i most certainly will returning a lot more. Hard earned cash and also independence is best tactic to switch, would probably someone generally be powerful and also assist someone else.

  50. I conceive this site has got very superb composed subject material blog posts.

  51. Useful info. Hope to see more good posts in the future.

  52. I believe one of your advertisements caused my internet browser to resize, you might want to put that on your blacklist.

  53. Hey there just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know a few of the images aren’t loading properly. I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different internet browsers and both show the same outcome.

  54. Wow, wonderful blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is great, let alone the content!

  55. Thank you for the information.

  56. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates. I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

  57. Dead pent subject matter, thank you for selective information. “Necessity is the mother of taking chances.” by Mark Twain.

  58. Many thanks for a tremendous put up, may see one’s others content. thanks for your ideas with this, I really felt a bit thump by this post. Many thanks again! You make a good aspect. Has fantastic facts here. I believe that in case a greater number thought about it like this, they’d have a better time receive the hang ofing the situation.

  59. Superb site you have here but I was wondering if you knew of any message boards that cover the same topics discussed in this article? I’d really love to be a part of community where I can get feedback from other knowledgeable individuals that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Kudos!

  60. Blogger/Blog*Spot feeds shows the most recent (recently updated as the default setting) 25 headlines or what others call as post titles. My question is how can I increase/decrease the number of those headlines because I think they’re too many..

  61. Lol, always great to see some healthy debate, even on the tough issues

  62. I simply needed to let you understand that your weblog doesn’t present up correctly on the BB browser, I added it to my bookmarks and have just checked from the desktop, nice format however a shame its not portable.

  63. Thanks for another informative website. The place else may I get that type of info written in such a perfect way? I’ve a mission that I am just now operating on, and I’ve been at the look out for such information.

  64. Whats hattnin, yeuh dis blog right heur is ill, big ups PAAAATNAAAA.

  65. I appreciate the info shared here. Please keep up the good work. Best wishes to you..

  66. Genuinely it’s called Search engine optimization that when i search for this article I found this web page at the top of all web sites in search engine.

  67. I used to be more than happy to search out this net-site.I wanted to thanks in your time for this glorious learn!! I definitely enjoying every little bit of it and I’ve you bookmarked to check out new stuff you blog post.

  68. I’m really impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this one nowadays..

  69. I was reading some of your posts on this internet site and I conceive this website is very informative ! Keep posting .

  70. Nice post. I study something more difficult on completely different blogs everyday. It’s going to all the time be stimulating to learn content material from other writers and practice a little one thing from their store. I’d favor to use some with the content material on my blog whether or not you don’t mind. Natually I’ll provide you with a hyperlink on your net blog. Thanks for sharing.

  71. In these days of austerity in addition to relative stress about incurring debt, many people balk resistant to the idea of having a credit card in order to make purchase of merchandise or perhaps pay for a trip, preferring, instead to rely on the tried as well as trusted technique of making transaction – hard cash. However, if you possess the cash available to make the purchase 100 %, then, paradoxically, that’s the best time to be able to use the cards for several factors.

  72. Apple now has Rhapsody as an app, which is a great start, but it is currently hampered by the inability to store locally on your iPod, and has a dismal 64kbps bit rate. If this changes, then it will somewhat negate this advantage for the Zune, but the 10 songs per month will still be a big plus in Zune Pass’ favor.

  73. It is a common experience that a problem difficult through the night is solved each morning after the committee associated with rest did on it.

  74. Hello.This post was extremely fascinating, particularly since I was investigating for thoughts on this issue last Monday.

  75. Between me and my husband we’ve owned more MP3 players over the years than I can count, including Sansas, iRivers, iPods (classic & touch), the Ibiza Rhapsody, etc. But, the last few years I’ve settled down to one line of players. Why? Because I was happy to discover how well-designed and fun to use the underappreciated (and widely mocked) Zunes are.

  76. I precisely needed to say thanks once more. I am not sure what I would’ve tried in the absence of the actual solutions shown by you over such problem. This was a intimidating crisis for me, nevertheless coming across a expert tactic you solved it forced me to weep for gladness. I am just thankful for your help and then wish you recognize what a great job you were getting into instructing most people thru a site. Probably you haven’t met all of us.

  77. Hi, Does this post also have an RSS feed? I’ve been looking around but cannot seem to find it. Thanks Geoffrey Hickson

  78. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you design this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz respond as I’m looking to construct my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. cheers

  79. […] relationships with other bloggers. Check out this extremely well-written trackback tutorial Permalink […]

  80. Your Estadio Jornalista Mario Filho, commonly called Estadio carry out Maracana (“Maracana stadium”), in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, is one of the most important football stadiums in the world. Owned by the Rio de Janeiro State, it is named following Maracana neighborhood in Rio de Janeiro.

  81. Hands down, Apple’s app store wins by a mile. It’s a huge selection of all sorts of apps vs a rather sad selection of a handful for Zune. Microsoft has plans, especially in the realm of games, but I’m not sure I’d want to bet on the future if this aspect is important to you. The iPod is a much better choice in that case.

  82. I genuinely enjoy looking at on this internet site , it has got excellent articles . “When a man’s willing and eager, the gods join in.” by Aeschylus.

  83. Pingback: All about Beautiful Girls

  84. You made certain nice points there. I did a search on the matter and found most folks will consent with your blog.

  85. Pingback: Adult Dating

  86. like} {your|your own} {suggestion|recommendation} {may be|might be} {helpful|useful} {in my|during my} situation. I {to help|to assist}

  87. I’m impressed, I must say. Really hardly ever do I encounter a weblog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you will have hit the nail on the head. Your thought is excellent; the issue is one thing that not sufficient individuals are talking intelligently about. I’m very blissful that I stumbled across this in my search for one thing referring to this.

  88. Nevertheless for net surfing, word processing, and plenty of other prevalent computer functions all right, provided

  89. Hello my friend! I wish to say that this post is amazing, nice written and include approximately all significant infos. I would like to see more posts like this .

  90. How can I make firefox to prompt me for what to do with a file instead of automatically downloading?

  91. Hi there. I want to disclose that is the worth it to read article. When i ourselves also have a website, you can it in this article

  92. It’s actually a cool and useful piece of info. I’m glad that you shared this helpful information with us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

  93. I believe this web site holds some rattling excellent info for everyone. “The individual will always be a minority. If a man is in a minority of one, we lock him up.” by Oliver Wendell Holmes.

  94. Thanks a ton for being my own mentor on this niche. My spouse and i enjoyed your current article a lot and most of all enjoyed how you really handled the areas I widely known as controversial. You happen to be always really kind to readers much like me and aid me in my life. Thank you.

  95. Hello there, just became aware of your weblog through Google, and found that it’s truly informative. I am gonna watch out for brussels. I will be grateful in the event you proceed this in future. Numerous people shall be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  96. Some genuinely nice and utilitarian information on this web site, also I conceive the style and design contains great features.

  97. Just added this blog to my favorites. I enjoy reading your blogs and hope you keep them coming!

  98. Awesome article. I will add you to my bookmarks. Check out my website http://adf.ly/62lW4

  99. I’ve visited many blogs,forums, but this time:How your fantastic forum is . It makes me surprise….

  100. My spouse and I stumbled over here by a different page and thought I may as well check things out. I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to exploring your web page for a second time.

  101. I have discovered that good real estate agents just about everywhere are getting set to FSBO Promoting. They are acknowledging that it’s not only placing a poster in the front place. It’s really concerning building human relationships with these traders who someday will become buyers. So, if you give your time and effort to encouraging these retailers go it alone — the “Law connected with Reciprocity” kicks in. Interesting blog post.

  102. Hey, something is wrong with your header, I dont think its not alligned right.. you should look into that!

  103. Hiya. This wasn’t own up this is often a very worthwhile short article. I average joe in addition have a website, you can the software these

  104. Thanks approving to the adept info. Clearly fair-minded wen up! I often do not mushrooming/groving/escalating on these but desponding you did a fervently buddy-buddy depredate and I’m indubitable some people suavity the less anyway.

  105. I’d have to check with you here. Which is not something I usually do! I enjoy reading a post that will make people think. Also, thanks for allowing me to comment!

  106. I enjoy your writing style truly enjoying this website. “We must use time as a tool, not as a couch.” by John Fitzgerald Kennedy.

  107. Great post, I conceive people should learn a lot from this weblog its real user genial. So much excellent info on here :D.

  108. I’ve recently started a site, the information you provide on this site has helped me greatly. Thank you for all of your time & work.

  109. You have observed very interesting details! ps nice website.

  110. Hi – great site although some of the images don’t seem to be showing right for me. Probably my old computer!

  111. Good web site! I really love how it is easy on my eyes and the data are well written. I am wondering how I could be notified when a new post has been made. I’ve subscribed to your RSS feed which must do the trick! Have a nice day!

  112. Thank you a tremendous post, would see your particular others content. many thanks for your notions with this, I felt a trifle made an impact to by this post. Thanks again again! You commit a good point. Got some fantastic data here. I believe that when more people considered it like that, they’d have a better time period receive the hang ofing the issue.

  113. Many thanks for an incredible publish, can study your others reviews. many thanks for your ideas on this, I experienced a bit thump by this article. Thanks again again! You commit an excellent time. Displays the beauty through fantastic facts here. I feel that when more individuals thought about it doing this, they’d possess a better time frame get the suspend ofing the situation.

  114. Thanks for an unbelievable submit, would study your particular others reviews. thank you your thinking within this, I experienced a bit struck by this post. Many thanks again! You commit a great point. Portrays natures best by the great info here. I feel that when a greater number thought about it like that, they’d possess a better time frame get the grasp ofing the situation.

  115. Very interesting details you have observed, thank you for posting.

  116. Nice piece of information! May I reference part of this on my blog if I post a backlink to this webpage? Thank you.

  117. Greetings from Ohio! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to check out your website on my iphone during lunch break. I love the info you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how fast your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, amazing site!

  118. Pingback: Get an Altec Lansing Octiv Duo speaker dock for $34.99 Marketplace

  119. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you create this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you?
    Plz reply as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. thank you

  120. As the admin of this web site is working, no hesitation very shortly it will be well-known, due to its quality contents.

  121. great issues altogether, you simply won a logo new reader.
    What might you recommend about your publish that you simply made some days ago?
    Any positive?

  122. Thank you for some other informative blog. The place
    else may I am getting that kind of info written in such a perfect means?
    I have a mission that I am simply now running on, and I’ve been at the look out for such info.

Leave a Reply

