gregorylnewton

A Site For All Your Needs

U.S. Hate and Extremist Groups Hit Record Levels, New Report Says

By BRIAN LEVIN, J.D.

The number of domestic hate and extremist groups in the United States grew to record levels in 2011, led by a surge in anti-government radicalism, according to a report released today by the Southern Poverty Law Center (SPLC), a prominent civil rights organization based in Montgomery, AL. In 2011 there were 1,018 “hate groups” nationally, representing a slight increase from the previous record, one year earlier in 2010, when there were 1,002 hate groups tallied.

The 2011 figures are the eleventh consecutive annual increase and the highest number since the SPLC began enumerating hate group totals in the 1980s. In 2000 there were just 602 of these groups nationally. While 2011 hate crime numbers are not yet tabulated by the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), the agency counted 6,624 hate crimes in 2010 in the United States, an increase of only 26 from a 14 year low recorded the previous year. An 2010 analysis by the Institute for Homeland Security Solutions found that from 1999-2009 white supremacist and anti-government domestic extremist plots were only surpassed by those undertaken by radical Salafist and Al Qaeda followers during the decade.

California, the nation’s most populous state led the nation with 84 hate groups last year according to the SPLC, followed by Georgia with 65, Florida with 55 and New Jersey with 47. The report broke down the number of hate groups in the United States by type and number for 2011:

Ku Klux Klan 152
Neo Nazi 170
White Nationalist 146
Racist Skinheads 133
Christian Identity 55
Neo-Confederate 32
Black Separatists 140
General Hate 190

While anti-Gay and anti-Muslim groups experienced increases, the number of Ku Klux Klan groups actually declined significantly from 221 into 2010 to 152 in 2011. A handful of domestic Muslim hate groups, like the As-Sabiqun movement were not tallied, although the SPLC did an extensive analysis on these types of extremists late last year. The SPLC also saw a significant decline in extremist nativist groups that engage in confrontational activities beyond mere political organizing, such as harassing undocumented residents or undertaking border patrols.

Sovereign Citizens and Patriots

Perhaps more disturbing than the small, yet sustained rise in hate groups, is the parabolic growth over the last few years in the number of anti-government “Patriot” and militia groups reported by the SPLC. These groups, which are categorized separately from hate groups, grew 55% to 1,274 in 2011, up from 824 in 2010. In 2008 such groups totaled only 149, while in 2009 the total increased to 512. Michigan had the largest number of “Patriot” groups with 79, followed by Texas with 76, California with 59 and Washington State, with 50.

The SPLC and other analysts attribute these increases to widespread distress with the role of government as well as anger and conspiratorial rhetoric directed toward President Obama. Last year’s anti-government totals eclipsed the previous record of 858 groups in 1996: the year following the trucking bombing of Oklahoma City’s Alfred P. Murrah federal building that left 168 dead. Despite the violent rhetoric and increasing number of extremist groups, there has been a paucity of successful violent attacks by both hard core hatemongers and right-wing militants in the United States over the last decade. While hate groups and right wing extremists, with some notable exceptions, have largely been unsuccessful in carrying out violence, analysts are increasingly concerned due to:

1. A steady stream of thwarted violent plots,
2. Several notable spontaneous violent encounters with police,
3. The rapid increase in groups,
4. Widespread political, economic and social distress

In addition to the Southern Poverty Law Center, government agencies such as the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) and the FBI are increasingly concerned about the threat posed by a subset of anti-government radicals called “sovereign citizens.” According to Darryl Johnson, the author of a forthcoming book on extremism and a former DHS senior analyst, “The sovereign citizens belong to an extreme antigovernment movement that believes the government is illegitimate and has no authority over them.” In addition to their violent leanings he explains that: “The sovereign citizen movement has actively exploited the mortgage foreclosure crisis and promoted debt-elimination schemes and scams to financially desperate individuals.”

This subgroup is estimated to have between 100,000 and 300,000 adherents nationally. While many are well armed and some have undertaken criminality, the overwhelming majority are nonetheless non-violent. Just last month the FBI held a press conference in Washington, DC on the threat posed by sovereign citizens. Deputy Assistant Director of Counterterrorism Stuart McArthur explained, “We are focusing our efforts [on anti-government extremists] because of the threat of violence.” In a September 2010 report the FBI noted that six law enforcement officers were killed by lone wolf sovereign citizens since 2000. The report warned that:

The sovereign-citizen threat likely will grow as the nationwide movement is fueled by the Internet, the economic downturn, and seminars held across the country that spread their ideology and show people how they can tap into funds and eliminate debt through fraudulent methods. As sovereign citizens’ numbers grow, so do the chances of contact with law enforcement and, thus, the risks that incidents will end in violence.

In August 2011 at a major national conference convened by the National Counterterrorism Center and the Department of Homeland Security, California State University San Bernardino’s Center for the Study of Hate and Extremism, also warned of the threat of sovereign citizens, particularly lone wolves and armed autonomous cells operating just outside the orbit of more established vocal, but nonviolent organizations. The Cal State Center noted an increase in disturbing activity and cited over one dozen illegal incidents or prosecutions in just the previous quarter. Most of these incidents involved spontaneous violent confrontations with law enforcement, threats, or financial and tax scams. The FBI states that over the last two years there have been 18 prosecutions annually, primarily related to money scams, up from 10 in 2010.

SPLC’s Senior Fellow Mark Potok explained some of the dynamics behind contemporary extremism in today’s report:

In Europe and the U.S. both, white dominated countries have become less so. At the same time, globalization has caused major economic dislocations in the West as certain industries and kinds of production move to less developed countries.

Brian Levin was the Associate Director of the Southern Poverty Law Center’s Klanwatch/Militia Task Force in the mid 1990s.

Follow Brian Levin, J.D. on Twitter: www.twitter.com/proflevin

U.S. Hate and Extremist Groups Hit Record Levels, New Report Says

Single Post Navigation

74 thoughts on “U.S. Hate and Extremist Groups Hit Record Levels, New Report Says

  1. I have been examinating out some of your posts and i can state clever stuff. I will definitely bookmark your blog.

  2. Yay google is my queen aided me to find this great web site ! . “The worst sin – perhaps the only sin – passion can commit, is to be joyless.” by Dorothy L. Sayers.

  3. I think other web-site proprietors should take this website as an model, very clean and fantastic user friendly style and design, as well as the content. You are an expert in this topic!

  4. Greetings from Los angeles! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to browse your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the information you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m shocked at how quick your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, great site!

  5. But wanna comment on few general things, The website style and design is perfect, the content material is rattling fantastic. “If a man does his best, what else is there” by George Smith Patton, Jr..

  6. I love the efforts you have put in this, appreciate it for all the great content.

  7. Very interesting points you have remarked, thankyou for posting . “Lefty Wise guy dont carry wallets, they carry their money in a roll….beaner on the outs” by Donnie Brasco.

  8. I concur with your conclusions and will eagerly look forward to your future updates. The usefulness and significance is overwhelming and has been invaluable to me!

  9. Hi! This is kind of off topic but I need some guidance from an established blog. Is it hard to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about creating my own but I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any tips or suggestions? Thank you

  10. you’re truly a excellent webmaster. The site loading pace is amazing. It sort of feels that you’re doing any unique trick. Furthermore, The contents are masterwork. you’ve done a fantastic process in this subject!

  11. Hello There. I discovered your weblog the usage of msn. That is a very smartly written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and return to learn more of your helpful info. Thank you for the post. I’ll definitely comeback.

  12. I like your writing style truly loving this internet site. “You simply *must* stop taking advice from other people.” by Melissa Timberman.

  13. I like this web site very much so much wonderful info . “You can’t turn back the clock. But you can wind it up again.” by Bonnie Prudden.

  14. I went over this internet site and I conceive you have a lot of great info, bookmarked (:.

  15. Perfectly pent content, Really enjoyed looking at.

  16. I have recently started a blog, the information you offer on this web site has helped me tremendously. Thanks for all of your time & work.

  17. It’s an interesting approach. I commonly see unexceptional views on the subject but yours it’s written in a pretty unusual fashion. Surely, I will revisit your website for additional information.

  18. I was just searching for this info for a while. After 6 hours of continuous Googleing, at last I got it in your site. I wonder what’s the lack of Google strategy that don’t rank this kind of informative web sites in top of the list. Normally the top websites are full of garbage.

  19. Thanks for all your efforts that you have put in this. Very interesting information. “Truth sits upon the lips of dying men.” by Matthew Arnold.

  20. Very interesting details you have noted , thankyou for putting up. “Women have been trained to speak softly and carry a lipstick. Those days are over.” by Bella Abzug.

  21. Some genuinely excellent info , Gladiola I discovered this. “War does not determine who is right – only who is left.” by Bertrand Russell.

  22. Between me and my husband we’ve owned more MP3 players over the years than I can count, including Sansas, iRivers, iPods (classic & touch), the Ibiza Rhapsody, etc. But, the last few years I’ve settled down to one line of players. Why? Because I was happy to discover how well-designed and fun to use the underappreciated (and widely mocked) Zunes are.

  23. I’ll gear this review to 2 types of people: current Zune owners who are considering an upgrade, and people trying to decide between a Zune and an iPod. (There are other players worth considering out there, like the Sony Walkman X, but I hope this gives you enough info to make an informed decision of the Zune vs players other than the iPod line as well.)

  24. Some really select content on this site, bookmarked .

  25. Excellent read, I just passed this onto a friend who was doing a little research on that. And he actually bought me lunch because I found it for him smile So let me rephrase that: Thank you for lunch!

  26. Really nice design and style and fantastic content material , hardly anything else we require : D.

  27. I really enjoy examining on this site, it has got great articles . “Something unpredictable but in the end it’s right, I hope you have the time of your life.” by Greenday.

  28. I am not real great with English but I come up this real leisurely to understand.

  29. I was examining some of your content on this website and I conceive this web site is real informative! Keep on posting.

  30. Very interesting points you have remarked, regards for putting up.

  31. Simply wanna comment on few general things, The website style and design is perfect, the written content is rattling superb : D.

  32. Some really prime posts on this site, saved to bookmarks .

  33. I am no longer positive the place you are getting your information, but great topic. I needs to spend a while studying much more or figuring out more. Thanks for excellent info I was on the lookout for this information for my mission.

  34. Very interesting points you have observed, thank you for posting.

  35. I always was interested in this subject and still am, thanks for posting.

  36. I simply couldn’t depart your web site before suggesting that I extremely loved the usual info a person provide in your visitors? Is going to be again often to check up on new posts.

  37. I like this blog very much, Its a rattling nice spot to read and incur info. “Strain every nerve to gain your point.” by Cicero.

  38. Hello everybody, I am sure you will be enjoying here by watching such funny movies.

  39. U.S. Hate and Extremist Groups Hit Record Levels, New Report Says gregorylnewton I was recommended this web site by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my trouble. You’re wonderful! Thanks! your article about U.S. Hate and Extremist Groups Hit Record Levels, New Report Says gregorylnewtonBest Regards Rolf

  40. Thanks for the write up! Also, just a heads up, your RSS feeds aren’t working. Could you take a look at that?

  41. Wonderful goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you are just extremely magnificent. I really like what you have acquired here, really like what you’re saying and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it wise. I cant wait to read far more from you. This is really a great web site.

  42. Perfectly indited subject matter, regards for entropy.

  43. I have never ever appeared at it like that, but you’ve got brought to head some things We have in no way thought of within the previous. I understand this was not an exceptionally really serious subject, but I do recognize what you said. I’ll be reading through your blog extra often.

  44. Hi there, always i used to check weblog posts here early in the break of day, as i love to find out more and more.

  45. Zune and iPod: Most people compare the Zune to the Touch, but after seeing how slim and surprisingly small and light it is, I consider it to be a rather unique hybrid that combines qualities of both the Touch and the Nano. It’s very colorful and lovely OLED screen is slightly smaller than the touch screen, but the player itself feels quite a bit smaller and lighter. It weighs about 2/3 as much, and is noticeably smaller in width and height, while being just a hair thicker.

  46. I like studying and I think this website got some really useful stuff on it! .

  47. I believe you have mentioned some very interesting details , thanks for the post.

  48. I’ll gear this review to 2 types of people: current Zune owners who are considering an upgrade, and people trying to decide between a Zune and an iPod. (There are other players worth considering out there, like the Sony Walkman X, but I hope this gives you enough info to make an informed decision of the Zune vs players other than the iPod line as well.)

  49. Definitely imagine that which you stated. Your favorite reason seemed to be on the net the simplest thing to keep in mind of. I say to you, I definitely get irked while other people think about issues that they plainly do not understand about. You managed to hit the nail upon the highest and outlined out the entire thing with no need side effect , other people can take a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thanks!

  50. I enjoy your writing style genuinely loving this internet site. “The glory of creation is in its infinite diversity.” by Gene Roddenberry.

  51. My spouse and I stumbled over here by a different page and thought I should check things out. I like what I see so now i am following you. Look forward to looking over your web page repeatedly.

  52. You have noted very interesting points! ps nice internet site.

  53. I don’t even know the way I finished up here, but I thought this post was once great. I don’t recognise who you’re but certainly you’re going to a famous blogger for those who aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

  54. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of U.S. Hate and Extremist Groups Hit Record Levels, New Report Says gregorylnewton . Thanks for the post. I will certainly comeback.

  55. I like this post, enjoyed this one thanks for putting up.

  56. Great paintings! That is the kind of info that are meant to be shared around the internet. Disgrace on Google for now not positioning this post higher! Come on over and consult with my website . Thank you =)

  57. Hands down, Apple’s app store wins by a mile. It’s a huge selection of all sorts of apps vs a rather sad selection of a handful for Zune. Microsoft has plans, especially in the realm of games, but I’m not sure I’d want to bet on the future if this aspect is important to you. The iPod is a much better choice in that case.

  58. Appreciate it for all your efforts that you have put in this. Very interesting info. “Remember, Ginger Rogers did everything Fred Astaire did, but she did it backwards and in high heels.” by Faith Whittlesey.

  59. We still can’t quite believe that I could be one of those studying the important points found on your website. My family and I are sincerely thankful for the generosity and for providing me the chance to pursue our chosen career path. Many thanks for the important information I got from your site.

  60. Keep up the superb piece of work, I read few content on this web site and I think that your website is real interesting and holds sets of superb info.

  61. U.S. Hate and Extremist Groups Hit Record Levels, New Report Says gregorylnewton I was suggested this website by my cousin. I am not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my problem. You are amazing! Thanks! your article about U.S. Hate and Extremist Groups Hit Record Levels, New Report Says gregorylnewton Best Regards Shane Lawrence

  62. Sorry for the huge review, but I’m really loving the new Zune, and hope this, as well as the excellent reviews some other people have written, will help you decide if it’s the right choice for you.

  63. This is getting a bit more subjective, but I much prefer the Zune Marketplace. The interface is colorful, has more flair, and some cool features like ‘Mixview’ that let you quickly see related albums, songs, or other users related to what you’re listening to. Clicking on one of those will center on that item, and another set of “neighbors” will come into view, allowing you to navigate around exploring by similar artists, songs, or users. Speaking of users, the Zune “Social” is also great fun, letting you find others with shared tastes and becoming friends with them. You then can listen to a playlist created based on an amalgamation of what all your friends are listening to, which is also enjoyable. Those concerned with privacy will be relieved to know you can prevent the public from seeing your personal listening habits if you so choose.

  64. Apple now has Rhapsody as an app, which is a great start, but it is currently hampered by the inability to store locally on your iPod, and has a dismal 64kbps bit rate. If this changes, then it will somewhat negate this advantage for the Zune, but the 10 songs per month will still be a big plus in Zune Pass’ favor.

  65. Just a smiling visitant here to share the love (:, btw outstanding style. “Justice is always violent to the party offending, for every man is innocent in his own eyes.” by Daniel Defoe.

  66. I like this blog it’s a master piece! Glad I discovered this on google.

  67. I like this weblog so much, bookmarked. “American soldiers must be turned into lambs and eating them is tolerated.” by Muammar Qaddafi.

  68. Really nice style and design and fantastic subject material, hardly anything else we need :D.

  69. I like this blog very much so much fantastic info.

  70. I just added this feed to my bookmarks. I have to say, I really enjoy reading your blogs. Thanks!

  71. Wohh exactly what I was looking for, regards for putting up.

  72. Just added this blog to my favorites. I enjoy reading your blogs and hope you keep them coming!

  73. Its fantastic as your other content : D, appreciate it for putting up. “As experience widens, one begins to see how much upon a level all human things are.” by Joseph Farrell.

  74. Thanks a ton for being my coach on this topic. We enjoyed your current article greatly and most of all appreciated the way in which you handled the areas I regarded as controversial. You happen to be always really kind towards readers much like me and aid me in my lifestyle. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

