gregorylnewton

A Site For All Your Needs

U.S. jobless claims rise to five-week high

New applications for unemployment benefits up 8,000 to 362,000

New applications for unemployment benefits rose to the highest level in five weeks, but they remained in a range usually associated with better labor-market conditions, government data showed Thursday.

Initial claims climbed by 8,000 to a seasonally adjusted 362,000 in the week ended March 3, the Labor Department said. Claims from two weeks ago were revised up to 354,000 from 351,000 previously.

The level of claims is an indicator of whether layoffs are rising or falling. Economists surveyed by MarketWatch had estimated claims would rise to 355,000 for last week.

On Wall Street, investors took the claims data in stride and stocks moved higher.

The four-week average of claims, meanwhile, was virtually unchanged at 355,000, which is near a four-year low. The monthly average provides a more accurate view of labor-market trends by reducing week-to-week gyrations caused by seasonal quirks.

Hiring usually picks up when applications for jobless benefits drop below 400,000, based on longstanding patterns. New applications for jobless benefits have fallen under that mark in 16 of the past 18 weeks, correlating with an increase in net U.S. job growth over that span.

“The trend for jobless claims has been a steady decline, which suggests the pace of hiring will continue to improve,” said economist Yelena Shulyatyeva of BNP Paribas.

Yet the relationship between hiring and weekly claims, which seldom drop below 300,000 even in the best of times, is somewhat loose. The government’s monthly employment report provides a much clearer picture of hiring trends.

The jobs report for February, to be issued Friday morning, is expected to show a 213,000 net increase in U.S. hiring last month. The economy added 243,000 jobs in the initial report for January, though that number will be revised. A 200,000-plus gain in February would be in keeping with recent trends.

While companies have stepped up hiring, the U.S. has a long way to go to repair the damage from the deep 2007-2009 recession. Nearly 6 million jobs that were lost during the downturn have not returned, and the unemployment rate is still high at 8.3%.

At the current rate of hiring, the jobless rate would not return to pre-recession levels of around 5% to 6% for at least three to four years.

Also Thursday, the Labor Department said continuing claims increased by 10,000 to a seasonally adjusted 3.42 million in the week ended Feb. 25. The data are reported with a one-week lag.

Continuing claims, which reflect people already receiving benefits, are handled by the states and typically last 26 weeks.

About 7.39 million people received some kind of state or federal benefit in the week ended Feb. 18, down 111,222 from the prior week. Total claims are not seasonally adjusted.

“Jobless claims rise to 5-week high “

“February layoff announcements fall 3% “

Private-sector jobs pick up steam

“Find A Job”

Single Post Navigation

76 thoughts on “U.S. jobless claims rise to five-week high

  1. Very interesting points you have noted, thanks for posting.

  2. Good write-up, I am regular visitor of one’s website, maintain up the nice operate, and It’s going to be a regular visitor for a lengthy time.

  3. Very interesting details you have remarked, thank you for posting.

  4. I believe this web site has some rattling superb information for everyone :D. “The test of every religious, political, or educational system is the man that it forms.” by Henri Frdric Amiel.

  5. Hey there would you mind letting me know which webhost you’re working with? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different internet browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot quicker then most. Can you recommend a good hosting provider at a reasonable price? Thanks, I appreciate it!

  6. Look, there is no doubt you are correct, but I’d urge you to be flexible with your definitions. To define is to make real, and you’re really smart!

  7. Hello, i believe that i saw you visited my internet site thus i came to “return the favor”.I am trying to discover points to enhance my web web site!I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!!

  8. Well, I am so excited that I have located your post because I have been searching for some information on this for almost three hours! You’ve helped me a lot indeed and by scaning this story I have found many new and useful information about this subject!

  9. Wohh just what I was searching for, thankyou for putting up. “Talent develops in tranquillity, character in the full current of human life.” by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe.

  10. I like this weblog very much, Its a very nice billet to read and receive info . “Education is the best provision for old age.” by Aristotle.

  11. You can certainly see your skills within the paintings you write. The sector hopes for even more passionate writers like you who aren’t afraid to mention how they believe. Always follow your heart.

  12. I consider something genuinely special in this web site.

  13. I was studying some of your content on this internet site and I believe this web site is very informative ! Retain posting .

  14. This design is spectacular! You most certainly know how to keep a reader amused. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Wonderful job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

  15. I was reading some of your content on this website and I conceive this web site is really informative! Continue posting.

  16. Regards for all your efforts that you have put in this. very interesting information. “You can’t help someone get up a hill without getting closer to the top yourself.” by Gen. H. Norman Schwarzkopf.

  17. Very interesting subject, appreciate it for putting up.

  18. The post was able to express what it wants to convey to the readers. It has been a very effective approach which resulted to a profitable output for all who have been fortunate enough to come across it!

  19. Very interesting info!Perfect just what I was searching for!

  20. Hi, i feel that i saw you visited my website thus i came to “go back the favor”.I’m attempting to to find issues to improve my website!I suppose its ok to make use of a few of your concepts!!

  21. Utterly indited written content , regards for information .

  22. Very interesting details you have mentioned, thank you for putting up.

  23. As soon as I discovered this internet site I went on reddit to share some of the love with them.

  24. There is obviously a bunch to know about this. I consider you made certain good points in features also.

  25. Apple now has Rhapsody as an app, which is a great start, but it is currently hampered by the inability to store locally on your iPod, and has a dismal 64kbps bit rate. If this changes, then it will somewhat negate this advantage for the Zune, but the 10 songs per month will still be a big plus in Zune Pass’ favor.

  26. Its good as your other content : D, thankyou for posting . “Before borrowing money from a friend it’s best to decide which you need most.” by Joe Moore.

  27. I think you have noted some very interesting points , thankyou for the post.

  28. If anybody is unemployed, and you want fast cash, come check out these local gold buyers, they pay top dollar for gold and silver jewelry which is great http://ny-gold-buyers.com/

  29. I always was concerned in this subject and stock still am, thanks for posting.

  30. You have noted very interesting points ! ps decent site. “Loneliness seems to have become the great American disease.” by John Corry.

  31. Very interesting points you have remarked, thank you for putting up.

  32. I regard something really interesting about your web blog so I bookmarked .

  33. I believe this site has very superb indited written content posts.

  34. Some truly prime posts on this website , bookmarked .

  35. Enjoyed examining this, very good stuff, regards . “Golf isn’t a game, it’s a choice that one makes with one’s life.” by Charles Rosin.

  36. Thanks for sharing!

  37. Very interesting info !Perfect just what I was looking for! “He who spares the wicked injures the good.” by Seneca.

  38. I appreciate a tremendous publish, can study your personal others content. thanks for your thinking for this, I really felt a lttle bit thump by this article. Thanks again again! You commit a good time. Portrays natures best by the fantastic facts here. I feel that when more individuals considered it that way, they’d possess a better time frame receive the suspend ofing the difficulty.

  39. Thanks so much for giving me an update on this matter on your web-site. Please realise that if a brand-new post appears or when any adjustments occur to the current article, I would want to consider reading more and knowing how to make good utilization of those techniques you talk about. Thanks for your time and consideration of other individuals by making this site available.

  40. I truly enjoy looking at on this site, it holds fantastic blog posts. “Never fight an inanimate object.” by P. J. O’Rourke.

  41. I am in fact keen of reading articles on the topic of developing new webpage, or even about Search engine optimisation.

  42. I have to get across my love for your kindness for individuals that need help with that issue. Your real commitment to getting the message all over has been especially productive and have encouraged folks just like me to get to their desired goals. Your new informative publication signifies so much to me and far more to my colleagues. Best wishes; from each one of us.

  43. Merely a smiling visitant here to share the love (:, btw outstanding layout. “Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not one bit simpler.” by Albert Einstein.

  44. I like this weblog very much so much wonderful info.

  45. I dugg some of you post as I cerebrated they were invaluable very helpful

  46. If you’re still on the fence: grab your favorite earphones, head down to a Best Buy and ask to plug them into a Zune then an iPod and see which one sounds better to you, and which interface makes you smile more. Then you’ll know which is right for you.

  47. Hello there, just turned into alert to your blog via Google, and located that it’s really informative. I am going to watch out for brussels. I’ll appreciate if you continue this in future. A lot of people will probably be benefited out of your writing. Cheers!

  48. You guys are wrong, and need to not be so very difficult on the author. This internet site appears to become dedicated to stating their very own opinion, which most of us have. I detest when people check out to speak unhealthy about another person because their opinion differs from other folks. Have a look at on your own before you are trying to speak about someone else.

  49. Helpful info. Fortunate me I found your site by chance, and I’m stunned why this coincidence didn’t took place earlier! I bookmarked it.

  50. Awesome read, thanks for sharing

  51. Outstanding post, I conceive people should larn a lot from this website its very user genial. So much fantastic info on here :D.

  52. Sure high resolution film quality consists of much memory, that’s why it gives improved feature.

  53. The Zune concentrates on being a Portable Media Player. Not a web browser. Not a game machine. Maybe in the future it’ll do even better in those areas, but for now it’s a fantastic way to organize and listen to your music and videos, and is without peer in that regard. The iPod’s strengths are its web browsing and apps. If those sound more compelling, perhaps it is your best choice.

  54. as soon as i saw this post i shared it on my facebook and a few other social media sites. thank you!

  55. Pingback: Dating Girls

  56. excellent points altogether, you just gained a new reader. What may you recommend about your put up that you simply made a few days ago? Any sure?

  57. Pingback: CHEATING WIVES

  58. I wanted to visit and allow you to know how , a great deal I valued discovering your web site today. I might consider it a honor to work at my business office and be able to make real use of the tips contributed on your site and also get involved in visitors’ reviews like this. Should a position regarding guest author become on offer at your end, you should let me know.

  59. Merely wanna input on few general things, The website style and design is perfect, the written content is real superb : D.

  60. I really appreciate this post. I’ve been looking all over for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You’ve made my day! Thank you again!

  61. Awesome looking website. I recently built mine and I was looking for some ideas for my site and you gave me a few. Can I ask you whether you developed the website by youself?

  62. how are you, honorable blog on lardy loss. the like helped.

  63. What’s Going down i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I have found It positively useful and it has helped me out loads. I am hoping to contribute & aid other customers like its aided me. Good job.

  64. Between me and my husband we’ve owned more MP3 players over the years than I can count, including Sansas, iRivers, iPods (classic & touch), the Ibiza Rhapsody, etc. But, the last few years I’ve settled down to one line of players. Why? Because I was happy to discover how well-designed and fun to use the underappreciated (and widely mocked) Zunes are.

  65. I’m impressed, I must say. Really rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head. Your idea is outstanding; the issue is something that not enough people are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy that I stumbled across this in my search for something relating to this.

  66. Great post, why not update your theme at http://bit.ly/GYVr2i

  67. i digg your posts! i also shared them on some of my social networks

  68. Real nice pattern and superb content, very little else we require :D.

  69. I like this post, enjoyed this one thankyou for putting up.

  70. I think this web site holds very fantastic composed articles content.

  71. Wohh precisely what I was looking for, thankyou for posting . “Never say that marriage has more of joy than pain.” by Euripides.

  72. Some really excellent articles on this site, thanks for contribution. “The key to everything is patience. You get the chicken by hatching the egg, not by smashing it.” by Arnold Glasgow.

  73. I truly enjoy reading through on this web site, it has got excellent blog posts. “The living is a species of the dead and not a very attractive one.” by Friedrich Wilhelm Nietzsche.

  74. This page appears to get a good ammount of visitors. How do you advertise it? It offers a nice individual twist on things. I guess having something authentic or substantial to talk about is the most important thing.

  75. I gave you a link back on one of my pr6 pages, I hope this is ok.

Leave a Reply

