gregorylnewton

A Site For All Your Needs

Rihanna on ex-boyfriend Chris Brown: ‘We love each other and we probably always will’

The ‘We Found Love’ singer says it wasn’t the 2009 assault that ended her relationship with Chris Brown, but rather the couple’s youth.

BY 

Chris Brown and Rihanna.

Chris Brown and Rihanna.

The passage of time, a plethora of tabloid stories, and numerous barely masked tweets later, Rihanna claims that she still loves Chris Brown — always has and always will.

The “We Found Love” singer expressed nothing but compassion and a kind of wistful regret as she talked about her relationship with her former beau on Oprah Winfrey‘s “Oprah’s Next Chapter” Sunday night.

“I think he was the love of my life,” she told the talk show host. “He was my first love and I see that he loved me the same way. I truly love him. The main thing for me is he’s at peace. I’m not at peace if he’s not happy or he’s still lonely. I care. It actually matters that he finds that peace.”

Rihanna, 24, and Brown, 23, were both on the rise in the music scene and were quickly becoming one of the industry’s golden couples when Brown physically assaulted her in February 2009, leaving her bruised and bloody.

But the singer credits the demise of their relationship to youth, not to an isolated incident.

“We were very young and very spontaneous,” she said of their problems. “We were falling in love and going at a really rapid pace. We forgot about ourselves as individuals.”

The Barbadian beauty even says that she felt concerned over the media fallout that Brown had to face afterward, though she was the victim in the situation.

“It became a circus and I felt protective. I felt like the only person they hate right now is him,” she said. “It was a weird, confusing space to be in because as angry as I was, as angry and hurt and betrayed, I just felt like he made that mistake because he needed help.”

What ultimately happened, she tells Winfrey, is that she learned to forgive the “With You” singer and move on, though it took some time.

“I’m single, but we have maintained a very close friendshpi since the restraining order has been dropped,” she said. “It’s not easy.

“I thought I hated Chris and I realized it was love that was tarnished. It looked like hate becuase it was ugly, it was angry, it was inflamed, it was tained and I realized that what it was is, I have to forgive him, because I cared about him still.

“And the minute I let go of that, I started living again.”

Rihanna on ex-boyfriend Chris Brown: ‘We love each other and we probably always will’

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

